Election results are in, but not everything is final

Election results are in, but not everything is final
Dave Faries

Nine races were uncontested, two remain too close to call and in one case there were no votes cast.

Vicki Briggs and Chris Miller were reelected to the Mexico City Council by sizable margins. Miller received 42 percent of the vote while Briggs took in 37 percent. No other candidate managed more than 9 percent.
Keith Louder returns to the Mexico School Board, but voters also picked a new face. Marci Minor received 726 votes to third Scott Nichols’ 524 to take the second available seat.

Laddonia voters gave Gary Garnett the edge for mayor over Glenn Jensen. The five person race for the two Board of Aldermen seats must await final certification.

Juanita Cope was elected to the board, carrying 64 votes. The unofficial results posted Tuesday gave Gerald Davis a too close to call lead over Tresa Hodges, 46 votes to 45.

Vandalia’s Alderman races were uncontested. Teresa Wenzel, Edna Wheeler and Debbie Hopke won easily. Martinsburg voted Pat Arens as mayor, along with Charles Diemeke and Cary Montague to Alderman seats, all uncontested.

In Farber, Tony Shade faced no opposition in his bid for mayor. Jeff Gay and Lee Scrogin took in the most votes for two Aldermen positions.

Rush Hill’s outcomes are unclear. Kathy Taylor received two votes for trustee. Jerry Ferrell had a single vote and there was a write in. Two seats were available for the two year term. A one year seat was also up for grabs, but no one declared candidacy for the spot.

No votes were cast on that ballot.

Vandiver Village trustees Jack Nengel, Kerri Ferrari and Tony Rutherford ran uncontested.

Randy Maxwell beat out Mark Korman for a seat on the Mexico Special #13 Road District.

The largest turnout was to determine the Audrain Health Board of Trustees lineup. There were two vacancies and three candidates. Jessica Ekern drew 1,169 of the 2,651 ballots cast to take a clear lead. But as of now, the second post is still uncertain.

Darla Eggers stands at 731 votes to Randy Senor’s 728.

County voters approved continuation of the tax supporting the small structures program, with 71 percent in approval. The county also favored keeping a tax supporting Common #1 Road District, with 64 percent checking the yes box.


User login