Primary set for Tuesday: What to know

By Alan Dale Managing Editor
Posted 7/31/22

A number of unopposed races dot the 2022 primary election for Audrain County on Tuesday, but there is still plenty to know before hitting the polls.

A little over a dozen polling places dot the …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Primary set for Tuesday: What to know


A number of unopposed races dot the 2022 primary election for Audrain County on Tuesday, but there is still plenty to know before hitting the polls.

A little over a dozen polling places dot the country landscape (see list below) and Audrain County Clerk Lisa Smith reminds voters on the dos one needs to follow prior to heading to the booth.

“Just to make sure you have your ID with you,” Smith said. “You can use an ID issued  by the state of Missouri or the United States Government, a voters registration card, an ID from a Missouri university, college, vocational or technical school, a current utility bill, bank statement, paycheck, government check or other government documents that contains the name and address of the voter.”

Smith added if one is unaware of who to vote for, a potential voter can always check with the County Clerk’s office and its sample ballot that is available.  

Following are the offices eligible for election on the 2022 ballot: (Vote for one, unless indicated) 

Republican Party 

United States Senator

Patrick A. Lewis, Eric Schmitt, Billy Long, Eric Greitens, Bernie Mowinski, C.W. Gardner, Deshon Porter, Vicky Hartzler, Dave Sims, Mark McCloskey, Eric McElroy, Dennis Lee Chilton, Robert Allen, Dave Schatz, Hartford Tunnell, Kevin C. Schepers, Rickey Joiner, Robert Olson, Russel Pealer Breyfogle Jr., Darrell Leon McClanahan III and Curtis D. Vaughn.

State Auditor

David Gregory and Scott Fitzpatrick

United States Rep District 6 

Brandon Kleinmeyer, Dakota Shultz, Sam Graves, John Dady and Christopher Ryan

State Senator District 18

Cindy O’Laughlin

State Representative District 43

Kent Haden

Presiding Commissioner

Alan Winders

Eastern District Associate Commissioner

Leslie A. Meyer

County Clerk

Lisa Smith

County Recorder

Teresa Allen

Prosecuting Attorney

Jacob Shellabarger

County Collector

Amy K. LeCount

Democratic Party

United States Senator

Lewis Rolen, Gena Ross, Carla Coffee Wright, Josh Shipp, Spender Toder, Lucas Kunce, Jewel Kelly, Clarence (Clay) Taylor, Pat Kelly, Trudy Busch Valentine and Ronald (Ron) William Harris

State Auditor

Alan Green

United States Representative District 6

Henry Martin, Charles West and Michael Howard

State Senator District 18

Ayanna Shivers

Associate Judge

Linda Hamlett

County Treasurer

Patty L. Meyers

Libertarian Party

United States Senator

John A. Hartwig

United States Representative District 6

Edward A. (Andy) Maidment

United States Senator

Paul Venable


Audrain Ambulance District Proposition; Maintenance of Essential EMS Services: (Yes/No)

Shall the Audrain Ambulance District be permitted to increase its authorized tax levy by 30 cents per one hundred dollars assessed valuation. This resulting new permitted tax rate shall still be subject to the mandatory 50% sales tax rollback formula in 321.552

RSMo and also to the Hancock Amendment rollback formula

Tri-County Nursing Home Question: (Yes/No)

Shall the Tri-County Nursing Home District be authorized to increase the annual rate of property tax from twenty five cents to thirty-five cents on the hundred dollars assessed valuation?

Audrain County polling locations

Mexico 1 

St. John’s Lutheran Church

1000 Dorcas, Mexico

Mexico 2-3-4 

Courthouse Annex

Old Pearl Motor Building

220 North Jefferson, Mexico

Mexico 5 

Southside Christian Church

2100 Lakeview Road, Mexico

Mexico 6 

Presbyterian Church

400 Lakeview Road, Mexico


First Baptist Church

Multi Purpose Building

Main and Washington, Vandalia

I E Cuivre

Modern Maturity Center

104 East Joe, Vandalia


Farber Community Room

104 West Front St, Farber


1ST Baptist Church

301 Maple, Laddonia


Community Room/Library

201 East Washington, Martinsburg

5-Rush Hill/Benton City

Rush Hill Community Church

143 Church Street, Rush Hill

6-South Fork 

Friendship Baptist Church

4500 E. Liberty, Mexico

7-8 Community 

Community Rm, Courthouse

101 North Jefferson Street, Mexico


4-H Building

Hwy D, Mexico


Little Dixie Fire Station #3

13971 Hwy T, Centralia


Friendship Christian Church

2045 State Hwy EE, Centralia


No comments on this item Please log in to comment by clicking here